Annual General Meeting of Slow Food Johannesburg

Committee secretary Dennis Conway

Dennis Conway

We held our Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Cheese Gourmet in Linden on Tuesday 3 April 2012.
The event was well-attended by members of Slow Food and the venue’s cozy setting was ideal for a convivial evening.

The owner of the Cheese Gourmet and Slow Food member, Brian Dick, launched the Annual General Meeting proceedings with an informative talk about South Africa’s prize-winning cheeses by small producers. Everyone enjoyed sampling these excellent local cheeses presented as a starter platter, and also incorporated into the main course.

Our outgoing leader, Tim Truluck, recapped the events of the previous year, and our Treasurer, Lekha Ahmod gave an overview of the financials (which are sound).

The Annual General Meeting is also traditionally when nominations for the committee for the coming year are called. The outcome was extremely positive for the convivium, with a number of the more experienced members staying on, including 2 past convivium leaders.

Dennis Conway was proposed as leader and unanimously elected. Dennis’ commitment to Slow Food and his professional experience are assets that will enable him to both steer the committee and the convivium.

Pleasingly, an enthusiastic response to join the committee was forthcoming from our younger and newer members. We’ve no doubt that their fresh, innovative ideas will invigorate the convivium and ensure that it remains relevant.

So without further ado, here’s your new committee for 2012-13.

Dennis Conway (Convivium Leader)
Tim Truluck (Immediate Past Chair)
Andrew Adrian (Past Chair)
Nanette Nel
Howard Schenker (Website Support)
Liz Pringle (Membership Manager)

Carla Breytenbach (Secretary)
Caroline McCann (Treasurer)
Maud Letzler
Barney van Eijk

Our “newbies” may be new to the committee, but collectively they represent a wealth of food knowledge and commitment to the Slow Food ethos. We’re thrilled to welcome them onboard.

Thank you to everyone who made the effort to attend the Annual General Meeting, and to Brian and his team for hosting us.

Yours convivially,
Dennis Conway (Convivium Leader)

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.